Solutions for the next human high-impact pandemic

Call description


Opening of the Call: 15 May 2020

Deadline for Eureka applications: 15 July 2020

Deadlines for national funding applications: Varies per country

Funding Decisions: 15 November 2020

Projects Duration: Up to 36 months

Projects Result Implementation: Up to 24 months after project completion preference for shorter launches

Call Acronyms

CA – Consortium Agreement

IPR – Intellectual Property Rights

NFA – National funding authority

R&D&I - research, development and innovation 


Participants are invited to submit research and innovation project proposals aiming to provide solutions and preparedness for highly contagious human infectious disease pandemics which inflict a high impact on society.

These can include (but are not limited to):

  • Technologies enabling local resilience or self sufficiency
  • Medical intervention robotics
  • Infection prevention and protection
  • Prevention of antibiotic resistance
  • Sanitation technology
  • Diagnostics and testing
  • Therapeutics, vaccines and medicines
  • Medical intervention robotics
  • Disease-tracking technology
  • Smart technologies for critical production and supply chains under lockdown
  • Education technologies and digital workplace
  • Govtech/Open data and Big Data

Participating Funding Authorities (NFA) and Countries

Within the Eureka initiative, the call is based on mutual consent between the participating funding bodies:

  • Belgium:
    • Brussels-Capital (Innoviris)
    • Flanders Innovaton & Entrepreneurship (VLAIO)
    • Service public de Wallonie (SPW)
  • Canada: National Research Council Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC IRAP)
  • Estonia: Entreprise Estonia (EAS)
  • Finland: Business Finland
  • France: Bpifrance
  • Germany: DLR Project Management Agency (TBC)
  • Netherlands: Health~Holland, implemented by Netherlands Enterprise Agency – RVO
  • South Africa: Department Science & Innovation Republic of South Africa (DSI)
  • Spain: Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnologico Industrial (CDTI)
  • Sweden: Vinnova
  • Turkey: Türkiye Bilimsel ve Teknolojik Araştırma Kurumu (TÜBİTAK)

Eligibility criteria

In order to apply to the present call, the participants must meet the following qualifications:

  • The consortium should include at least two organisations independent of each other from two of the participating countries.
  • Funding assistance follows each NFA’s funding regulations.
  • The project particicpants must express their willingness to cooperate, on a win-win/fair basis in the development of a new product, industrial process or service.
  • The product, process or service must be innovative and there must be a technological risk involved.
  • The project must have a civilian purpose .
  • The project should benefit all involved partners in a well-balanced consortium.
  • The project should have an obvious advantage and added value resulting from the technologic cooperation between the participants (e.g. increased knowledge base, commercial leads, access to R&D infrastructure, etc.).
  • A signed consortium agreement (CA) for the purpose of a multi-partner collaborative R&D project is mandatory, unless indicated otherwise by relevant NFA. The CA should at least include the execution and governance of the project, ownership and use of know-how and IPR settlements, and commercialisation of the project results. Project start and funding may be conditional to a signed CA having been received and verified by relevant NFAs; see Section 6 and consult your NFA for details.
  • The duration of the project may not exceed 36 months.
  • Product, service or process implementation or market launch should happen no later than 24 months after project completion.

Any participant whose collaborative R&D&I project is consistent with the aforementioned criteria can apply to the present call in accordance with their national laws, rules, regulations and procedures in effect, on a non-exchange of funds basis, and subject to budgetary availability.

Each participating NFA may apply additional eligibility criteria based on their national regulations. Applicants are strongly advised, prior to submitting the application, to contact their NFA to discuss their project idea, and verify their project’s eligibility.

Participants from other Eureka countries or countries outside of Eureka can also participate, but funding must be secured within the deadlines for the call.


There are two stages to the submission and assessment process:

Stage 1: Eureka applications

All participants must complete the Eureka project application form online. It must be completed online by 15 July 2020 by 17.00 Central European Summer Time (CEST). The form must be completed in English. 

The project consortium is strongly advised to read the form carefully, follow the guidelines and complete all necessary elements in the form as requested. You can contact your Eureka National Project Coordinators to get support in preparing the form (see below for detailed information for each NFA in Section “Funding conditions and rules per NFA”).

Each Eureka application will be evaluated by the national Eureka offices of the countries involved in that application. 

Stage 2: National applications

If required by their NFA, project participants will submit a related national funding application – taking into account all relevant national procedures and submission rules. Submission deadlines might differ between the participating NFAs, see Section “Funding conditions and rules per NFA” below for detailed information.    

All applications are assessed against the eligibility criteria of the call before being put forward for the national assessments according to the national evaluation criteria.

The national evaluation is based on the general Eureka eligibility criteria, national eligibility criteria and evaluations, the Eureka application form with annexes, and if required a national application form.

Successful projects are put forward for a Eureka label. After a common list of labeled and non-labeled projects has been agreed, applicants will be informed about the results.

Funding details

Funding will only be provided to projects that are positively evaluated by all relevant participating NFAs. Funding of project participants is subjected to budgetary availability and national funding conditions stipulated by each NFA. 

The NFA named below will provide access to public investment for the selected projects. The support will be given to each participant by its respective NFA in accordance with their national laws, rules, regulations and procedures in effect, on a non-exchange of funds or soft loan basis, and subject to budgetary availability for each NFA.

Submit your application

Raising the productivity and competitiveness of European businesses through technology. Boosting national economies on the international market, and strengthening the basis for sustainable prosperity and employment.