Eurostars eligibility criteria for Spain

co-funded by the european union - european partnership

Eurostars is part of the European Partnership on Innovative SMEs. The partnership is co-funded by the European Union through Horizon Europe.

To apply, you must fulfill seven eligibility criteria:

  • The project consortium is led by an innovative SME* from a Eurostars country.
  • The project consortium is composed of at least two entities that are independent from one another.
  • The project consortium is composed of entities from at least two participating countries with a minimum of one organisation from an EU or Horizon Europe Associated Country.
  • The budget of the SMEs from the participating countries (excluding any subcontracting) is 50% or more of the total project cost.
  • No single participant or country is responsible for more than 70% of the budget of the project.
  • The project duration is 36 months or less***.
  • The project has an exclusive focus on civil applications. 

*We define an innovative SME as any SMEs with the ambition to collaborate on R&D and innovation with international partners to develop new products, processes and services for European and global markets. Innovative SMEs do not need to have a proven track record of R&D activities.

R&D: “Research and experimental development (R&D) comprise creative and systematic work undertaken in order to increase the stock of knowledge – including knowledge of humankind, culture and society – and to devise new applications of available knowledge.” (OECD Frascati Manual 2015, p. 44)

Innovation: “a new or improved product or process (or combination thereof) that differs significantly from the unit’s previous products or processes and that has been made available to potential users (product) or brought into use by the unit (process).” (OECD Oslo Manual 2018, p. 20)

**Eurostars countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Türkiye and the United Kingdom. (As of 1 January 2024, entities established in the United Kingdom are considered to be established in a Horizon Europe Associated Country).

***Eurostars countries that are not a European Union Member State or a Horizon Europe Associated Country: Canada, South Korea, Singapore, South Africa and Switzerland.

***If justified, you may be permitted an extension after your project has started. This must be approved by the Independent Evaluation Panel, Eureka Secretariat and relevant national funding bodies. 

Please read all our guidelines before submitting a project application. If you do not meet all our eligibility criteria, your application will be rejected.

National criteria

CDTI has additional national criteria for projects to be eligible to receive funding. Restrictions based on the EU framework for aid for research, development and innovation and the Spanish law for grants will be applied: 

  • Only SMEs with tax residence or permanent establishment in Spain can be beneficiaries of the grant managed by CDTI.
  • Public entities (except public mercantile companies), companies that are undertakings in difficulties and entities subject to a pending recovery order (after a previous decision of the European Commission that has declared an illegal and incompatible aid with the market) are specifically excluded.
  • Only SMEs that (at the point of the Eurostars deadline) have deposited the accounts of at least the last financial year in the official registry will be eligible for funding.
  • A Spanish SME can only receive funding for one application in each Eurostars call for projects. If more than one Eurostars application has been submitted, you must explicitly tell CDTI which project will continue to the evaluation process and which should be discarded during the legal and financial viability check.
  • The start date of the Eurostars project must be after the Eureka Secretariat has communicated to you that your project has been approved and within the year of the Spanish national call for funding publication.
  • The Spanish partner must complete their tasks before the date indicated in the Spanish national call for funding criteria (if stated).
  • The activities that can be funded cannot exceed 36 months in duration. After granting the aid, in justified cases it is possible to authorise extensions of up to 6 months by modifying the grant resolution.
  • The SME must demonstrate the financial capacity to undertake the project, according to the latest annual accounts officially registered and deposited.

Contact CDTI using our contact form before submitting your application.

Read more (in Spanish).

The next steps

Read all our guidelines before submitting your project application.

Go to the guidelines

Check your financial viability. Our tool indicates whether you have the financial capacity to support your costs in the project.

Check your financial viability

Contact your funding body